Differences Actors and Crawlers

I am quite new to apify so I am still confused on the differences between crawlers, actors and storage.

I think I have grabbed the main differences but I would like to clarify them:

• defining a crawler is a comfortable way for scraping webdata:

• When writing a crawler I just have to implement the page_function to get the data from the website
    • the crawler supports me with helper functions to configure (handing cookies to crawler, defining pseudo-urls, etc.)
    • the crawler fills the request_queue automatically according to the given base-url and the pseudourls.
  • an actor is kind of a script/program that runs on the apify-platform.

• I can do anything with an actor that I could do implementing a node.js program
    • I can implement any of the crawlers (base, pupeteer, etc.) but I have to do more of the necessary steps by hand. (e.g. there are no pseudo-urls - I would have to get all href-tags, match them against regEx and manually fill the request_queue.

Some points that do not look clear from my perspective:

• Is it possible to call a crawler which I have defined on apify-crawlers within an actor?
  • how do I use the request-queue to prevent my crawler from revisiting pages on different runs?

Thanks for your help to improve my understanding!

Hello and thanks for your question,

I think you get the idea pretty well. One thing that is not obvious to our users is that crawler was our first platform that is more hard-coded to do just the crawling jobs it does. Actor is our newer platform that can generally run arbitrary code (doesn’t need to be Node.js, you can run any languages there.). Because it Actor is much more flexible, we are moving in its direction and adapting the features the crawler does any more. The best example is our open-source Node.js crawling and automation library Apify SDK.