How to do breadth first search with an Apify crawler?

I’m a beginner with Apify. I want to make an Apify crawler that gets all the data with breadth-first search algorithm.

How can I do it? are there many references available?

An example or sample code would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Hello @cnhx27,

Apify uses breadth-first crawling by default so any of the existing examples should be fine for you.

Be sure to check out our SDK page and the Getting Started tutorial and let us know if you get stuck anywhere :slight_smile:

Sorry, I expelled myself badly.
I want to start the crawl of level + 1 only if the previous one is finished. This means that all URL’s in level - 1 were crawled.

As I said, this is the default behavior when using a Request Queue.

Imagine a scenario where you have a Start URL and enqueue new requests on each page.

At the beginning, the queue would look like this:

[startUrl]

and after the first request is processed, it will look like this:

[requestFromStartUrl1, requestFromStartUrl2, requestFromStartUrl3, ...]

The crawler then visits requestFromStartUrl1 and enqueues more requests. The queue will look like this:

[requestFromStartUrl2, requestFromStartUrl3, ..., newRequest1, newRequest2, newRequest3, ...]

So, as you can see, the requestFromStartUrl# items - i.e. level 1 items, will always be crawled before the lower level items are crawled.

There is a catch though, and that is, if some of the requests fail, they will be enqueued to the end of the queue for retries, so this breaks the principle, but there’s a good reason to do it this way. It allows some time between similar requests, which helps with blocking.

Or am I getting this wrong?

There is a catch though, and that is, if some of the requests fail, they will be enqueued to the end of the queue for retries, so this breaks the principle

That’s a first reason it’s not really breadth-first crawling.